Arkansas Massage Therapist Licensing

• 1 April 2020

Arkansas Licensing Overview for a Massage Therapist

Licensing for a massage therapist in Arkansas is controlled by the Arkansas Board of Massage Therapy.

General Guidelines for a Massage Therapist in Arkansas

Specific requirements to perform massage therapist services can generally be used as a guideline, but make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.

Who’s allowed to perform these services?

Massage therapist

General requirements for a massage therapist license?

• At least 18 years old
• High school diploma or GED
• Tested and determined free of infectious tuberculosis
• Authorize a personal criminal background check
• 500 hours training
• MBLEx and State Law Exam

What’s the state licensing site for a massage therapist?

Arkansas Board of Massage Therapy

What are some training programs available for a massage therapist?

See training programs

How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?

Renews every two years, on the licensee’s birth date

What are fees associated with licensing?


Download the app