Rhode Island HVAC Contractor License

• 16 April 2020

Rhode Island Licensing Overview for an HVAC Contractor

Licensing for an HVAC contractor in Rhode Island is controlled by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation.

General Guidelines for an HVAC Contractor in Rhode Island

Follow state requirements to perform HVAC contractor services, but also make sure to check with your local governing rules and regulations.

Who’s allowed to perform these services?

HVAC Contractor

General requirements for an HVAC contractor license?

• Must carry necessary Workers Compensation insurance.

• Must obtain correct tax information.

• Must have a working knowledge of State and Federal OSHA laws.

• Must have a working knowledge of the BOCA State Building Code (particularly the International Mechanical Code).

What’s the state licensing site for an HVAC contractor?

Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Professional Regulation

What are some training programs available for an HVAC contractor?

See available training programs.

How long is a license good for and when do I need to renew?

Renew biennially

What are fees associated with licensing?

$60 – $240

Download the app